Last updated on March 2nd, 2021 at 05:33 pm
Need Your California Food Manager Certification?
Now offering all online training courses with an in-person, proctored manager examination at one of our 1,500 nationwide testing centers
Click the register button now to get your California Food Manager Certification before the price increases!
” So affordable! I definitely recommend Food Handler Solutions! “
School District Director / Creighton School District
California FOOD MANAGER CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS
|State Regulations||Food establishments that prepare, work with, or serve non-prepackaged food that could be hazardous, are required to have an employee or owner who has passed an ANSI-CFP food safety certification examination that is approved and accredited.|
|Certification Exam||Mandatory statewide|
|Approved Certification Exams||Always Food Safe
ServSafe and Prometric
|Food Safety Training Requirement||No|
|Certificate Renewal||5 years|
|Other Regulations||California Food Handler Card: According to Senate Bill 303, every food handler is required to acquire a food handler card within 30 days of the day they are hired from an ANSI-accredited provider.|
Which food safety certification programs are approved in California?
ServSafe and Prometric are all ANSI-CFP accredited exams accepted in California.
How long is the Food Protection Manager certificate valid for?
Are there any extra requirements for food safety training to obtain the Food Manager Certification?
Taking and passing an approved food safety exam that is accredited will be sufficient. However, taking a food safety training course to is recommended to help you prepare for the certification exam.
Do I have to register with the Environmental Health Services after I successfully pass the certification exam?
You are not required by law to register with the local or state Environmental Health Services. Test providers, ServSafe and Prometric, will provide a certificate which is numbered to each individual who passes the certification exam. All health inspectors will view a valid certificate as being in compliance.
Do I need to have a certified food protection manager employed before I open my business?
The law states that a food facility has 60 days to make sure a certified food protection manager is employed when the business is just started, there was a change of ownership, or the previous certified food protection manager quits.
Which food establishments are excused?
Food establishments that are mobile, for example, hot dog carts, farmer’s markets, produce stands and any market that deals with only packaged foods, are not required to have a certified food protection manager employed. Contact your local health department for more information or if you are unsure.
Does the food manager law apply to school districts and colleges?
School districts and colleges must fulfill with the food manager requirements as well, unless they are managed by a food safety certification program that trains them in food safety procedures.
My business has several permits from the health department for a restaurant, café and delicatessen. Do I need a food manager certificate for each?
If all of the food establishments are owned by the same person or company, then only one certified food protection manager is mandatory for the operations. If the food establishments are owned by different people or companies or are at different locations, then each one must have their own certified food protection manager.
How Would You Like To Take The Exam?
Go to a testing center or take it remotely with your computers webcam.
Testing Center Exam Provided By:
Remotely Proctored Exam Provided By: