Last updated on October 1st, 2020 at 12:07 am
Need Your Mississippi Food Manager Certification?
Now offering all online training courses with an in-person, proctored manager examination at one of our 1,500 nationwide testing centers
Click the register button now to get your Mississippi Food Manager Certification before the price increases!
” So affordable! I definitely recommend Food Handler Solutions! “
School District Director / Creighton School District
Mississippi FOOD MANAGER CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS
|State Regulations||The individual in charge must be present at the food facility during every hour of operation and must have successfully passed a manager certification training course approved by the regulatory authority.|
|Approved Certification Exams||ServSafe and Prometric|
|Food Safety Training Requirement||8 hours|
|Certificate Renewal||5 years|
How can I get my certificate?
You must have completed eight hours of training from an approved and accredited food protection manager certification training program and then take an accredited exam, for example ServSafe or Prometric.
Is there a minimum number of training hours?
Mississippi requires eight hours of training before you can take the exam. Training may be taken online or in person.
Does the Health Department require me to pay an additional fee to make my certificate valid?
Completing the eight hours of training and successfully completing one of the approved exams is all that is required in order to receive a Food Manager Certificate in Mississippi.
Does my Food Manager Certificate expire?
Your Food Manager Certificate expires after 5 years from the date of issuance. The date of issuance should be listed on your certificate.
How can I renew my certificate?
To renew your certificate, you will have to complete the training and take the certification exam again.
What is considered a food facility?
A food facility is described as an operation that stores, prepares, packages, serves, vends or provides food for consumption for a price. This includes any establishment that is held in a mobile, stationary, temporary or permanent establishment or location, where consumption is on or outside of the premises.
Do I need to have a Certified Food Protection Manager employed before I open my business?
Yes. The Mississippi State Department of Health will not grant a permit for a food facility until a certified manager is employed.
Can a person become a Certified Food Protection Manager for multiple food facilities?
No, they cannot, because the law requires one Certified Food Manager for each food facility to be present during every hour of operation.
How Would You Like To Take The Exam?
Go to a testing center or take it remotely with your computers webcam.
Testing Center Exam Provided By:
Remotely Proctored Exam Provided By: