This post was most recently updated on September 26th, 2018

Last updated on September 26th, 2018 at 11:02 pm

Need Your Pennsylvania Food Manager Certification?

Click the register button now to get your Pennsylvania Food Manager Certification before the price increases!

Register Here, Now!

If you are looking for an affordable, fun and easy online food manager certification course, you are in the right spot. Get your Pennsylvania Food Manager Certification by clicking the button below.

Pennsylvania FOOD MANAGER CERTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS

State Regulations

The Food Employee Certification Act demands that one supervisory employee in each food establishment has acquired a food safety certification by taking an ANSI-CFP recognized food safety class.

Certification Exam

Mandatory

Approved Certification Exams

ServSafe and Prometric

Food Safety Training Requirement

16 hours

Certificate Renewal

5 years at a state level

Additional Requirements

Not all food establishments in Pennsylvania are under the dominion of the PA Department of Agriculture.Allegheny, Bucks, Chester, Erie, Montgomery, and Philadelphia all have local health departments who act as the licensing authority within those counties:If your facility is located in one of the above counties, you should contact the local health department for more information.

FAQs

Does the food manager need to be present at the food establishment at all times?

The Certified Food Manager is not required to be on premises during every hour of operation, however they are required to be available during every hour of operation. When in the establishment, the certified food manager should be the Person-in-Charge (PIC).

Do I need to maintain a copy of the manager certification at the food facility?

Individuals must complete 16 hours of a food safety certification course. You should check with the local health department for special requirements based on your county.

Do I need to have a certified food protection manager hired before I open my establishment?

New facilities have 90 days to acquire a Food Manager Certification. Already established facilities who are not in compliance because of employee changes or other reasons for the loss of a certified food manager have three months from the date of loss to fulfill the requirement.

State Seal

Pennsylvania State Seal